Announcing the winners of the 2014 American Literary Review Awards!

Click the titles below to read this year’s winning work.

Poetry, judged by Dan Beachy-Quick

Winner: “Not by Extraordinary Means,” by Michelle Y. Burke
Short fiction, judged by Padma Viswanathan

Winner: “Magnify, Sanctify,” by Sharon Solwitz
Runner-up: “Killing Pastor Olaf,” by Julie McNeely-Kirwan

Creative Nonfiction, judged by Jo Ann Beard

Winner: “Blackout,” by Raphael Dagold
Runner-up: “Candy,” by Lisa Nikolidakis


Photo courtesy of Kathryn Friedman